Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook

In this Discussion

Grading - Popularity contest or technical ability??

Hey, so i'm having a hard dealing with a recent informal grading (we had a seminar first then sat and were called out to receive stripes/belts).

So some background, I've been doing BJJ for just over 6 months now 2 x a week with 2 PT sessions a month at a Gracie affiliate club in the UK. 
Now ok, 2 x a week isn't much but that's all i can do, i work 2 jobs at night 5 days a week, get 4 hours sleep before I'm up to look after my children in the day, 2 x a week is all i can currently do....however in those 6 months i have learnt alot, i can comfortably roll with blue belts, and have been told by my coach i have better technical ability and learned techniques/skill level than some longer serving student white belts. I honestly feel i have worked so hard, sacrificed alot of family time etc to train, ive trained on broken bones, exhaustion etc etc as i said im very committed.
 I'm good friends with my coach (we work together outside of BJJ), extremely respectful, polite, hard working, loyal etc etc to my club, coaches and fellow students.
Now i train with my coach (a brown belt) in my town, the black teaches as part of the same club in the next town over (however we are all the same club). My work commitments prevent me from training at the black belts club. 
During the seminar i drilled and rolled with other non stripe white belts who had trained the same length of time as me, some less, and l genuinely felt that i had better ability than them (because ive rolled with them and have first hand experience of my level vs theirs). These white belts train at my club and occasionally at the black belts club in the town over.
These white belts in question received stripes during the grading and me and a few others who i know, did not grade at all (which was very disheartening)